Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

The Dark Carnival Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 136 Atlantic City Blvd
  • Bayville, NJ
  • 732-599-5147
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Not recommended for children under 10 (unless they are really brave!!)
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes, Haunted Trails / Spook Walks, Scream Parks, Other Events
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Best Kept Halloween Secret in Bayville

    The woods set back well behind the batting cages at Blackbeards Cave in Bayville NJ sets a perfectly creepy mood for this Halloween Haunt. If pyschotic clowns, circus freaks and dolls scare you this is perfect. Walking in total darkness at times is just as scary as an unexpected "boo!" style scare! The Meat Grinder is also a good addition and you get both scares for only $20! My only criticism is that this local gem is too much of a "best kept secret." It needs to be promoted at local stores, schools and cross marketed at Blackbeards Cave at every venue and opportunity.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Worth your time

    Every year I go it seems to get better and better and much creepier and scarier I can't wait to see or be in this year's haunt. I hope you guys keep it up

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 31-45 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted July 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Terrific surprises

    Both the houses were equally good. Terrific surprises keep popping up every now and then, especially from the darkest corners. We couldn’t stop our screams from start to end. The actors were so much dedicated, some would even follow you from behind to scare you more. Loved their energy, they never seemed to slow down at all.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Damn frightening haunt

    Scary sounds and mysterious ghosts!!! We felt this thrilling adventure at The Dark Carnival. The place was so dramatic, fun filled and magnetic, that we were not willing to come out of scary world. Unique theme and sets were damn frightening. Will visit again in the next season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Overall experience is average

    Some scares were nice, but the overall experience is very short lived. It just took us around 20-25 minutes to go through the entire place, including both the attractions. And we were charged no less than $25 each. We wouldn't have come this far if we had known this earlier. Really wish they had more space and more props to display.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Had super fun throughout

    Worth the time, money and the long wait too. We went as a group and they had no problems in sending us all in together. The scare factor did get reduced a bit, but we had super fun throughout. Wouldn’t mind returning again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Avoid this

    The performances by actors were abysmal. The costumes/makeup weren’t scary and they didn’t try their best to scare any one of us. Avoid this...save your time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best Kept Halloween Secret in Bayville

    The woods set back well behind the batting cages at Blackbeards Cave in Bayville NJ sets a perfectly creepy mood for this Halloween Haunt. If pyschotic clowns, circus freaks and dolls scare you this is perfect. Walking in total darkness at times is just as scary as an unexpected "boo!" style scare! The Meat Grinder is also a good addition and you get both scares for only $20! My only criticism is that this local gem is too much of a "best kept secret." It needs to be promoted at local stores, schools and cross marketed at Blackbeards Cave at every venue and opportunity.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Worth your time

    Every year I go it seems to get better and better and much creepier and scarier I can't wait to see or be in this year's haunt. I hope you guys keep it up

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 31-45 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted July 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Terrific surprises

    Both the houses were equally good. Terrific surprises keep popping up every now and then, especially from the darkest corners. We couldn’t stop our screams from start to end. The actors were so much dedicated, some would even follow you from behind to scare you more. Loved their energy, they never seemed to slow down at all.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Damn frightening haunt

    Scary sounds and mysterious ghosts!!! We felt this thrilling adventure at The Dark Carnival. The place was so dramatic, fun filled and magnetic, that we were not willing to come out of scary world. Unique theme and sets were damn frightening. Will visit again in the next season.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Overall experience is average

    Some scares were nice, but the overall experience is very short lived. It just took us around 20-25 minutes to go through the entire place, including both the attractions. And we were charged no less than $25 each. We wouldn't have come this far if we had known this earlier. Really wish they had more space and more props to display.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Had super fun throughout

    Worth the time, money and the long wait too. We went as a group and they had no problems in sending us all in together. The scare factor did get reduced a bit, but we had super fun throughout. Wouldn’t mind returning again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Avoid this

    The performances by actors were abysmal. The costumes/makeup weren’t scary and they didn’t try their best to scare any one of us. Avoid this...save your time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Never Miss This One...

    I visit few haunts every year; Dark Carnival is definitely one that you should not miss. It has great conceptual designs and plenty of scares in the rooms. It also had some incredible props. You can tell how much time they might have spent in designing this place. My GF screamed many times. Actors all did a fantastic job. I heard a lot about this haunt, and it had lived up to the hype. I would recommend this place to everybody. No long line and reasonable ticket prices. Awesome!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Real fun at real carnival

    For realistic and terrifying fun, me and my partner went straight to The Dark Carnival. And it was out of the world!!! Stress bursting and trilling!! They are very innovative in all categories. I think the concept of Travelling Slideshow launched first here, and it was mind blowing. Mysterious ghosts and dazzling props are added attractions. A must visit place for all Halloween lovers!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified An average haunt

    An average haunt. It had some scares at a few places, but not at the level I had initially anticipated while reading the reviews. Not impressed with the costumes and props of actors and actress, who were hardly shown an interest in scaring all of us. Certainly, not a place to be on weekend to grab a dose of horror.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Boring...average set design

    I am an avid haunt lover, but this haunt didn’t meet my expectations at all. The queues were long and all three attractions were just in numbers not in quality. The sets were of average design and actors were never in right colors and energy level to scare us.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Outstanding

    This is the best haunted attraction I’ve ever been to in my entire life!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 31-45 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified So dark, so scary

    My family love to be scared!!! This was chosen by my wife and we are so excited to have scary fun. The Dark Carnival was the perfect destination having Travelling Slideshow, aggressive inbound activities and great actors. All of you must see to believe the rocking performances in carnival including Morbus and land dwelling. Its really an enjoyable horrible attraction.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified worth your $20

    Went there last night, and I think it was worth $20. It was intense, didn't run because I was afraid what might pop up next but I enjoyed my time. The make up and actors were amazing, they are so into it. Thanks for making me scream and get scared! Worth it !

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • A lot of fun

    Very scary!! Outside venue with scary surprises...we do a lot of haunted houses, and I would do this one again!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Madly Scary

    Madly Scary!!! This place became one of my favorite Halloween destinations by its unique scare methods and perfect hideouts. If you love to get scared then this is a must visit attraction during Halloween season. Props are great and actors very dedicated. Each time they come out with their best scares. It was a scary fun adventure for all ages.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Absolutely terrifying

    Went there last year. Absolutely horrifying best haunted house I've ever been through period was a little too fast for me but that's cuz I was running for my life. Actors did an amazing job and I met the two owners who are also very cool. If you like guys with beards you should definitely go 100% recommended for anybody above the age of 10

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best in nj

    This is the best haunted attraction in New Jersey by far, it's long, scary, and has scare factors for every level.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Scary Fun but Short

    Lots of scary screams and surprises from behind. Both houses took 20 minutes in total and it was over. Just expected more for $25 bucks.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • It was amazing!

    Came here last night and I have got to say everything was completely unexpected! You didn't know what was going to happen next! The setting before going in makes it even scarier! It was very scary and so much fun! Its definitely a must go to!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Crazy good...

    Went on Sunday...didn't know what to expect. I was exhausted by the end of it...from screaming. It was one scare after another. Great rooms!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Freakin scary

    Went through it last night. Screamed from beginning to end. Never knew what was around the corner. Just when you think it has ended...it hasn't. Very cool...

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • SO F---ING SCARY!!

    Came here with a group of friends one night and I have to say, out of ALL the haunted places I have gone to so far in NJ, this place is the ABSOLUTE BEST!! The actors did such an amazing job, half the time I forgot they were that, just actors. LOL. This place is not to be missed. A+ on every single level. Cant wait to go again this year!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?